Anna Tsuchiya v. Miley Cyrus (I couldn’t help it)

I was listening to Anna Tsuchiya on IMEEM.com (which is awesome btw) when I saw a comment from another listener which read “Blue moon has the same tune as hannah montana – one in a million! XD” (thanks Jessica dewi) I just couldn’t help but investigate this.

So I looked up the ridiculous Miley Cyrus and… behold. There it is. One in a million… sounding pretty much like Blue Moon. Let’s just say I was outraged! So I heard the songs back and forth.

The lyrics are different though the message in the same. The damn melody is the same, though. So I did some research:

Anna Tsuchiya

Album: Slap that Naughty Body/MY FATE

Release Date: March 23, 2006

Miley Cyrus

Album: Hannah Montana 2/Meet Miley Cyrus

Release Date: June 23, 2007

It’s safe to say that Anna Tsuchiya released the song first…

Can she be so desperate as to rip off a Japanese rock artist’s song and call it her own (maybe).

Is there a possiblilty that maybe she didn’t know that it was ripped off and whoever composed the song…. totally screwed her over? (possibly)

Whatever the cause, reason, or circumstance is, it still does not defeat the point that… Miley Cyrus’s song One in a Million sounds TOO much like Anna Tsuchiya’s Blue Moon.

There are some other articles out there. Most of them I found where in spanish and I didn’t want to rummage in it trying to read it (I really have a damn essay to write.. but I can’t help it).

So, I’ll leave it to you guys to decide what’s really going on. Are they really enough differences to say its not ripped off or copyright infringment? Research, hear, find out for yourself and tell me what you think!!!

Allis Richardson

~ by myv382 on March 9, 2009.

Leave a comment